0808 20 20 888

Whatever your business, the FSB will work for you.

About Scottish Regions

To explain the Regional structure of the FSB in Scotland we have to go one level deeper and first look at the Branch structure.

The Branch Structure

The FSB is a member-led organisation, meaning that FSB members - small business owners - volunteer their time to carry out FSB activities.

The branch structure is the core of the FSB. Local branches carry out grass roots lobbying and real small business issues are raised and discussed.

Branches are formed by defining areas that have similar business issues. They are often aligned to Local Authority boundaries, but not always. The FSB has 32 branches in Scotland, with branch membership ranging from just 20 members up to over 2500 members.


All branch activities are the responsibility of the Branch Committee. Branch Committee members are democratically elected by the FSB members within that Branch at the Annual General Meeting, usually held in October/November.


The Regional Structure

An FSB Region is a collection of branches. Within a Region, two members of each Branch Committee are nominated to be Branch representatives on the Regional Committee.

The Regional Committee acts as an administrative centre, guiding and supporting Branches in their lobbying work and helping to share Best Practice. Regional Committees are responsible for budgeting and the allocation of funds, as well as communicating FSB Policy and resolving issues. 

Each Region is entirely independent from the others although common purpose is often found, especially when lobbying on Scotland-wide issues.

The 32 Branches in Scotland are distributed between 4 Regions:


FSB Regions in Scotland

FSB Branches in Scotland

















                                                           4 FSB Regions in Scotland                              32 FSB Branches split between the 4 Regions


East of Scotland Region

From the Tay to the Tweed – covering Fife, The Lothians, and The Borders


    1. Edinburgh
    2. Fife
    3. Scottish Borders
    4. West Lothian


Highlands & Islands Region

From Lochaber right up to Shetland, and from the Western Isles to Nairn in the east. 


    1. Badenoch & Strathspey
    2. Caithness & Sutherland
    3. Easter Ross
    4. Inverness
    5. Lochaber
    6. Orkney
    7. Shetland
    8. Skye & Lochalsh
    9. Western Isles
    10. Wester Ross


North East Scotland Region

From Perth & Kinross up to the Moray Firth, east of the Cairngorms


    1. Banff & Buchan
    2. Deeside
    3. Dundee & Angus
    4. Perth & Kinross
    5. Moray
    6. North East Buchan
    7. South Aberdeenshire


West of Scotland Region

From Tobermory to Stranraer, taking in Langholm, and from Lanarkshire to Stirling, and Callander.

    1. Arran
    2. Ayrshire
    3. Dumbarton & District
    4. Dumfries & Galloway
    5. Forth Valley
    6. Glasgow City
    7. Lanarkshire
    8. Mid Argyle
    9. North Ayrshire
    10. Oban
    11. Renfrewshire & Inverclyde


More Information